For background information on all speakers, moderators and panelists, please click the appropriate tab at the top of the page.

Monday, Aug. 26

8-9 a.m.: Registration, networking, coffee and continental breakfast available.

9: a.m.: Welcome and introductory remarks, Kipp Coddington, Director, Energy Policy & Economics, School of Energy Resources, University of Wyoming. Kipp will serve as emcee for the conference.

9:10 a.m.: Energy transition and social license. Jessica Western and Kipp Coddington, University of Wyoming.

10 a.m.: Panel: Setting the table: What are the three pillars of energy sustainability and why should you care? Moderator: Christopher Ischay, Idaho National Laboratory. Panelists: Veronika Vazhnik, graduate fellow, Idaho National Laboratory; Dr. Charles Luce, U.S. Forest Service; and Thomas Grant, Manager of Energy Demand, Albertsons Companies, Inc.

10:50 a.m.: Networking break.

11:15 a.m.: Utilities of tomorrow: What is driving the move toward “clean.” Moderator: Carl Borgquist, President and CEO, Absaroka Energy, LLC. Panelists: Adam Richins, Vice President of Customer Operations and Business Development, Idaho Power; Mark Tourangeau, Vice President Customer Solutions and Business Development, Rocky Mountain Power.

12:15 p.m.: Networking break, lunch is served.

1:15 p.m.: The continuing promise of nuclear. Idaho is home to one of the leading efforts in the world to commercialize small module nuclear reactors, as well as the country’s top nuclear research facility. SMRs and other emerging nuclear opportunities. Moderator: Bear Prairie, General Manager, Idaho Falls Power. Panelists: Doug Hunter, CEO, UAMPS; Michael Miller, Project Manager, NuScale; Dr. Shannon Bragg-Sitton, co-Director of and Nuclear Science & Technology lead for the Idaho National Laboratory (INL) Laboratory Initiative on Integrated Energy Systems.

2:15 p.m.: Made in the West: Energy startups that could make a difference. Moderator: Sean Luangrath, Inergy Solar. Panelists: Emily Morris, CEO, Emrgy; Leif Elgethun, Founder and CEO, Retrolux; Alex Livingston, President, Joule Case.

3:15 p.m.: Engaging conference attendees, facilitated by Jessica Western.

3:45 p.m. End of day one.

6 p.m. OPTIONAL RECEPTION AND DINNER (SEPARATE REGISTRATION). Including brief remarks by Admiral McGinn.

Tuesday, Aug. 27

7-8 a.m.: Registration, networking, coffee and continental breakfast available.

8 a.m.: Welcome to day two.

8:10 a.m.: Keynote speaker: Vice Admiral Dennis McGinn, USN (Ret.). Admiral McGinn served as Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Energy, Installations and Environment from September 2013 until January 2017. He led the transformation of naval installations toward greater mission resiliency though energy efficiency, renewable energy, microgrids, and other technologies.

9:15 a.m.: U.S. Congressman Mike Simpson, ranking member House Energy and Water Development Appropriations Subcommittee.

10 a.m.: Networking break.

10:30 a.m.: Renewables, storage and the West. Moderator: Tom Ranken, President and CEO, CleanTech Alliance. Panelists: Russ Weed, CleanTech Strategies; Curt Kirkeby, Avista; Brian Young, Washington State Department of Commerce; Greg Cullen, Director of Generation and Technology Development, Energy Northwest, Energy Northwest.

11:30 a.m.: Jessica Western.

Noon: Break and lunch service begins.

12:30 p.m.: Panel: How western communities are driving change in their energy world. Moderator: Kat Davis, Sustainability Coordinator and Environmental Compliance Specialist, Boise State University. Panelists: Steve Burgos, Director of Public Works, Boise City; Idaho Falls Mayor Rebecca Casper; Spokane Mayor David A. Condon.

1:30 p.m.: BPA and the future of hydro in the West. Dan James, Deputy Administrator, Bonneville Power Administration.

2:15 p.m.: Networking break.

2:30 p.m.: Remarks and panel discussion: Dr. Kathleen Araujo, Director, CAES Energy Policy Institute, Boise State University. Remarks: “Energy Jobs and Innovation Hubs in Energy Transitions.” Panel: The Role of the Science Enterprise and Innovation in Energy Transitions. Panelists: Ray Stark, Senior Vice President, Government & Community Relationships, Events, Boise Metro Chamber of Commerce; Dr. JoAnn Lighty, Dean, Boise State University College of Engineering; Nic Miller, Executive Director, Venture College, Boise State University; Heidi J. Jarvis, Vice President, Business Development, Idaho Technology Council; John Russell, University of Idaho/CAES.

3:30 p.m.: Bringing it all together: Applying the models and approaches of social license to Energy in the West facilitated by Jessica Western.

4:15 p.m. End of conference.